SWAC Announces 2019 Preseason All-SWAC Football Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2019 All-SWAC Preseason teams and Predicted Order of Finish on Tuesday at Football Media Day with Alcorn State and Southern tabbed to finish in first place in the Eastern and Western divisions respectively in a vote conducted by the leagues’ Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Alcorn State led all SWAC programs with a total of 14 selections on the All-SWAC Preseason First and Second teams. Prairie View A&M came in second in the number of Preseason All-Conference selectons with a total of eight student-athletes.

Alcorn State’s Noah Johnson (pictured above far right) was named the 2019 SWAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year after an impressive 2018 campaign in which he led the Braves to a SWAC Championship title and Celebration Bowl appearnace. In three seasons, Johnson ranks eighth all-time in school history in touchdown passes (30), ninth in passing yards (4,018) and 10th in rushing yards (1,867).

In 2018, he threw for 2,207 yards and 15 touchdowns, and rushed for 1,080 yards and 11 touchdowns. Johnson ranked third in the nation in rushing yards per carry (7.5) and 16th in completion percentage (.621).

Soloman Muhammad (pictured above far left) also from Alcorn State, was tabbed the leagues’ 2019 Preseason Defensive Player of the Year after also being named a 2018 HBCU All-American and a 2018 SWAC All-Conference First-Team honoree.

He finished second on the team in tackles with 64 despite missing two games. He also wrapped up 4.0 sacks and 9.0 tackles for a loss. It came after a breakout year in 2017 where he notched 52 tackles in just seven games including 6.5 tackles for a loss, 2.0 sacks, two forced fumbles and an interception.

Alabama A&M, Jackson State, Alabama State, and Mississippi Valley State round out the predicted order of finish in the SWAC’s Eastern Division.

In the SWAC’s Western Division, Prairie View A&M, Grambling State, Texas Southern, and Arkansas-Pine Bluff were tabbed to finish in second, third, fourth, and fifth place respectively.

A complete listing of the 2019 Preseason All-SWAC Football teams can be found below.

2019 Preseason All-SWAC Football Teams

SWAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year- Noah Johnson

SWAC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year- Soloman Muhammad

Preseason First Team
QB Noah Johnson Alcorn State
RB Taeyler Porter Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RB De’Shawn Waller Alcorn State
OL DeJohn Jones Prairie View A&M
OL Deonte Brroks Alcorn State
OL Mustaffa Ibrahim Alcorn State
OL Jodeci Harris Southern
OL Kevin Hall Alcorn State
WR Tristen Wallace Prairie View A&M
WR DeJuan Miller Arkansas-Pine Bluff
TE Kendric Johnson Alabama A&M


DL Jordan Lewis Southern
DL Christian Clark Alabama State
DL Jalen Steward Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL Anferenee Mullins Grambling State
LB Darron Johnson Alabama State
LB Armoni Holloway Alabama A&M
LB Solomon Muhammad Alcorn State
DB Javen Morrison Alcorn State
DB Qwynnterrio Cole Alcorn State
DB Joseph McWilliams Grambling State
DB Ju’Anthony Parker Prairie View A&M
Special Teams
K Corey McCullough Alcorn State
P Anthony Craven Alabama State
RS Ezra Gray Alabama State
Preseason Second Team
QB Aqeel Glass Alabama A&M
RB Dawonya Tucker Prairie View A&M
RB Devon Benn Southern
OL Christian Rice Prairie View A&M
OL Danny Garza Prairie View A&M
OL William Waddell Grambling State
OL Shonye Reams Alabama A&M
OL Jaylon Brinson Southern
WR Tren’Davian Dixon Texas Southern
WR Brian Jenkins Alabama A&M
TE Jeremias Houston Southern
DL Ron Collins Prairie View A&M
DL Darrell Henderson Alcorn State
DL Theron Bonds Alcorn State
DL Khalil Johnson Jackson State
LB Brelion Hollis Alcorn State
LB Julian Marcantel Texas Southern
LB Keonte Hampton Jackson State
DB Daquarian Fields Grambling State
DB Joshua Hill Alabama State
DB Daylon Burks Alcorn State
DB Montavious Gaines Southern
Special Teams
K Zack Elder Prairie View A&M
P Corey McCullough Alcorn State
RS Tyrin Ralph Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Predicted Order of Finish

Eastern Division 
Alcorn State (92)
Alabama A&M (70)
Jackson State (61)
Alabama State (47)
Mississippi Valley State (30)

Western Division
Southern (90)
Prairie View A&M (78)
Grambling State (74)
Texas Southern (34)
Arkansas-Pine Bluff (24)

« Back to News