November 19, 2020 (Atlanta, GA) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its 12th Class today – the Class of 2021. Six inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021 includes: Coy Bacon (Jackson State University), Greg Coleman (Florida A&M University), Jimmie Giles (Alcorn State University), Winston Hill (Texas Southern University), Roynell Young (Alcorn State University) and Coach Willard Bailey (Virginia Union, Norfolk State University, St. Paul’s College, Virginia-Lynchburg College).

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, congratulations to the Class of 2021,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “It is a significant achievement to be considered one of the best to ever play or coach football at a Historically Black College & University.”

Votes were tallied from the 11-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators, and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from members of the BCFHOF to determine the Inductees.

The Class of 2021 will be honored at the 2021 Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Juneteenth Celebration, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on June 19, 2021. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

For more information please visit


COY BACON (Player)

Coy bacon

Defensive Lineman … Jackson State University (1962-1966) … Signed with the Dallas Cowboys as a free agent … Dallas Cowboys (1967) … Los Angeles Rams (1968-1972) … San Diego Chargers (1973-1975) … Cincinnati Bengals (1976-1977) … Washington Football Team (1978-1981) … USFL Washington Federals (1983) … Three-time All-Pro … In 1976 led the NFL with 21.5 sacks … Born August 30, 1942 … Died December 22, 2008.


Greg coleman

Punter … Florida A&M University (1972-1975) … Selected by the Cincinnati Bengals in the 14th round of the 1976 NFL Draft … Cincinnati Bengals (1976) … Cleveland Browns (1977) … Minnesota Vikings (1978-1987) … Washington Football Team (1988) … Earned the nickname “Coffin Corner” … First African American Punter in NFL history … Selected by the fans to the Vikings 40th Anniversary team … Born September 9, 1954.


Jimmie gilesTight End … Alcorn State University (1973-1976) … Selected by the Houston Oilers in the third round of the 1977 NFL Draft … Houston Oilers (1976) … Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1978-1989) … Detroit Lions (1986-1987) … Philadelphia Eagles (1987-1989) … Four-time Pro Bowler … For his career, Giles caught 350 passes for 5,084 yards and 41 touchdowns … Tampa Bay Buccaneers Ring of Honor … Born November 8, 1954.


Winston hillOffensive Lineman … Texas Southern University (1959-1962) … Three-time All-Southwestern Athletic Conference selection … Selected by the Baltimore Colts in the 11th round of the 1963 NFL Draft … Baltimore Colts (1963) … New York Jets (1963-1976) … Los Angeles Rams (1977) … AFL Champion (1968) … Super Bowl III Champion … Three-time All-AFL Selection … Eight-time Pro Bowler … Three-time All-Pro … AFL All-Time team… New York Jets Ring of Honor… Born October 23, 1941 … Died April 26, 2016.


Roynell youngSafety and Defensive Back … Alcorn State University (1977-1979) … Three-time All-Southwestern Athletic Conference performer … NAIA All-American … Sheridan Broadcasting Network Defensive Player of the Year … Finished college career with 20 interceptions, 144 tackles and 48 pass deflections … Selected by the Eagles in the first round (23rd overall) of the 1980 NFL Draft … Philadelphia Eagles (1980-1988) … Played in Super Bowl XV … Pro Bowl Selection (1981) … Born December 1, 1957.


Willard bailey(1971-1983) and (1995-2003), Norfolk State University (1984-1992), Saint Paul’s College (2005-2010) Virginia University of Lynchburg (2011-2013) … Compiled a record of 238–169–7 … Won seven Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) conference championships … Bailey never had a losing season between 1971 and 1983 … His Virginia Union Panther football teams made five straight appearances in the Division II football playoffs (1979-1983) … Born June 3, 1939.

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Its trustees are football legends Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams. The Black College Football Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Shack Harris & Doug Williams Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) soon will have a permanent home at the Pro Football Hall of Fame (PFHOF) to tell the story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).


« Back to News